Another Fallen One

Shocked and saddened.  Another Christian marriage ending in divorce.  And this time it was a famous author…one of my favorites.  In fact, I have a picture with her and some of my friends.  I’ve read all of her books.  I follow her blog.  A few years ago, I attended one of her conferences in North Carolina.  How is it possible that her marriage would end???

I feel sorry for her, that the entire world has to know her business.  It’s bad enough when a Christian couple in the church divorces, let alone someone who is a bestselling author.  Because then all the know-it-alls and judgmental people come out.  They all have an opinion and feel it’s their right to declare if she was right or wrong for making the decision to end her marriage.

I just can’t voice my thoughts about a situation I’m not personally familiar with…even though at one time I would have been glad to offer my two cents (which is about all it’s really worth).  It’s so easy to spout off what the Bible says and how others should live it—unless we’re in that position.

There is nothing more humbling than to experience the very thing you judge.  Been there, done that.  The first time I heard about a teen pregnancy at my church, wow, it was amazing how super spiritual I suddenly became.  Then a few years later I would be shocked to learn my 17-year-old daughter was pregnant.  Suddenly my husband and I were on the other end of judgment because surely, we had done something wrong as parents.

It would be great if we could live in this perfect Christian bubble surrounded by perfect Christian people who follow the Bible word for word.  But that’s not reality.  We live in a fallen world.  We’re sinners.  Husbands cheat.  Kids rebel.  Pastors fall.

People sometimes lose their way.  They get caught up in the ways of this world.  They succumb to the temptations.  It’s unfortunate.  Sad.  Heartbreaking.  Tragic.  But this side of heaven it’s what we should expect.  Not until we reach our eternal destination will there be no more divorces, teen pregnancies, addictions, disappointments, lies and death.

Until then, when another believer becomes part of a tragic story, let’s not be so quick to jump on the judgment bandwagon.  We never know if we’ll end up in their shoes or face the unthinkable in other ways.

These days I’m more of the “rejoice with those who rejoice and mourn with those who mourn (Romans 12:15) mindset.  I won’t stop reading that famous ministry leader’s books or unsubscribe to her blog.  I’ll pray for her, that despite the circumstances, she will find a way to cling even closer to God.  And someday…see this trial turned into a testimony for another woman facing divorce.

“There but for the grace of God, go I.” (John Bradford)

Leave a Reply

