Pray…Even When You Don’t Feel Like It

Sometimes there comes a point during a trial that you have no words for God.  You are so tapped out, disappointed, frustrated, hurt or angry that you can’t even pray.  Do it anyway.

There’s a great song by Martina McBride called “Anyway,” which speaks to this.  My favorite part of the song is this:

God is great, but sometimes life ain’t good

When I pray it doesn’t always turn out like I think it should

But I do it anyway

I do it anyway

This is a wonderful reminder that even when life isn’t good, God remains great.  And that sometimes things don’t turn out the way we think they should, but we pray anyway.

What’s the purpose of praying when nothing is going our way?  We have to get out of the mindset that praying is about getting something.  Prayer isn’t a tool we use to manipulate things our way.  It isn’t a means of telling God what to do.  Yet so often this is exactly how we act.

Prayer is communing with God.  The dictionary describes this as:  sharing one’s intimate thoughts or feelings with (someone or something), especially when the exchange is on a spiritual level.

When Job lost everything, he prayed.  It didn’t change his circumstances.  He still lost his fortune, children and health.  He had the right perspective on what prayer is all about.  He needed to talk to his heavenly Father, yes, even when everything around him was going wrong.

Here’s what I’ve come to learn about prayer during trials.  Even when I don’t feel like doing it, and the words seem pointless, and my heart isn’t in it…my soul is still making a connection to the One who holds my life in His hands.

It’s easier to “get back” to God after the trial is over when I’ve continued to pray.  It’s easier to see how God was working in the midst of my difficulty.  It’s easier to feel His peace and joy.  But more importantly, I’ve acknowledged that prayer isn’t about getting my way but getting closer to God.

Going through a trial?  Don’t let your feelings dictate your relationship with God.  Pray anyway.

4 thoughts on “Pray…Even When You Don’t Feel Like It

Leave a Reply

