Trials Will Show Your Inner Strength

Trials sometimes expose the parts of us that need work, but they can also reveal strength we never knew we had.  This has probably been truest for me in the years my son has served overseas, sometimes in hostile environments.  The worries, the separation, the inability to help him during difficult times were just some of the challenges I faced as a military mom.

Oftentimes we don’t know what we’re made of until we find ourselves in the fire.  We may come out a little burned but we still make it out.

The greater dependency we have on God, the stronger we’ll be.  Anything we try to muster up on our own is sure to be short-lived.  God is our everlasting strength.  He will carry us through; but we have to be willing participants in the process.

Psalm 121 gives us some insight on how to do this.  In verse 1 it says:  I lift up my eyes to the mountains—where does my help come from? 

Lift your eyes up.  Take the focus off your problem and put it on the Problem Solver.

Verse 2 is a great reminder of where our strength comes from:  My help comes from the Lord, the Maker of heaven and earth.

Honestly, feeling helpless is the best place to be in the midst of a trial.  You come to understand that God is our only help in times of trouble.

The road might feel treacherous but verse 3 says:  He will not let your foot slip—He who watches over you will not slumber.”

Whether you recognize it or not…regardless if you feel His presence or not…God is always watching over you.  He will hold you steady in the midst of the trial.

Your inner strength is birthed out of an intimate, growing relationship with the Lord.  It’s what gets you to this place of declaration:

The Lord is my strength and my shield;

my heart trusts in Him, and He helps me.

My heart leaps for joy,

And with my song I praise Him.

(Psalm 28:7)

You might also like:

Embracing God’s Will in the Midst of a Trial

Remaining Faithful NO MATTER WHAT

The Biggest Mistakes Made When Someone Is in a Trial

How to Deal with Trials in Life

Leave a Reply

