1)I have full control over this stage of my life…how I want it to look and how to make it happen.

Although this is true in any stage of life, I don’t think a person really gets this until they reach midlife.  Time becomes more precious and you tend to want to make the most of it.  Instead of letting the world dictate how life should look, we take the reins and move in the direction that is best for us.  You learn that things won’t just happen to fall into place—that we have a part to play in the unfolding of what’s before us.

2) Drama is overrated.

“Reality” television has convinced us that dramatics will get you somewhere in life.  The reality is that it gets you nowhere as a person.  You end up looking foolish.  You may lose the respect of others.  And frankly, it’s just a waste of time.

3) Gravitate toward those who make you a better person and retreat from those who suck out the life in you.

Getting older, I’ve definitely become more cautious about my relationships.  I gravitate more toward those who are not only like-minded, but show me how to be a better person.  These aren’t people who sugarcoat things but tell me the truth—even when it’s ugly or hard.  I retreat from those who draw me into things that aren’t healthy (like gossip) or who never have anything positive to say.

4) Get back up, no matter how hard or how far you’ve fallen.

Every single day I mess up—whether in a small or big way.  There are times I feel like the biggest failure in the world.  Yet God’s grace is always available.  More than just a band-aid to cover the wounds of my sins, His grace is the arms I need to lift me up out of the pit.  To get me back up so that I can move forward into being who He has called me to be.

5) Don’t be afraid to establish boundaries.

We can’t always walk away from the people that in our life.  But we can establish boundaries that serve as a form of protection.  Whether it’s creating distance from the person or learning to stand up for yourself, we shouldn’t be afraid to do whatever is necessary to protect our hearts.  Healthy boundaries are not only for your good, but oftentimes for the good of the other person.

6) It’s never too late.

We don’t have to allow life to stop or slow down just because we’re getting older.  It’s never too late to try something new.  To develop a skill.  To form a new habit.  To take a risk.  To step out of your comfort zone.  It’s never too late to enjoy life!

7) Avoid the trap of a “busy” life.

In my younger years, my worth as a person was based on how many plates I could keep spinning in the air.  It was a badge I wore with honor.  But here’s what I’ve come to learn about this type of life, it’s a trap that kept me from doing the things I was meant to do.  Sometimes it negatively impacted relationships.  I’ve learned that busy not only makes you tired, it makes you unavailable to the more important matters in life.

8) Not allowing the past to define me.

Each day is a new opportunity to be the person I am meant to be.  So that means I don’t have to allow the past to define who I am.  I look at each new day as a fresh clean start—a slate to write upon it the story of who I am going to be that day.  It doesn’t matter what I did 20 years ago or yesterday, I have been graced with the chance to do things differently.

9) Simple is so much better than complicated.

I don’t like complicated relationships…complicated situations…complicated living.  I have become a much simpler person as I’ve gotten older.  This has led to less stress and more peace.  Less worry and more faith.  It’s the simple things in life that often matter the most.

10) Loosen up for goodness sakes!

Between my Type A personality and the German in me, fun and laughter doesn’t come as naturally to me as I would like.  But I’m working on it.  Being an old fuddy duddy is not very enjoyable…not only to yourself but those around you.  I’m definitely learning to loosen up…to not sweat the small stuff.  To get silly once-in-a-while.  To not make a big deal out of small things.  Life is so much more enjoyable when you’re undies aren’t in a bunch.

 

Leave a Reply

