My Heart Outside My Body

“Making the decision to have a child—it is momentous.  It is to decide forever to have your heart go walking around outside your body.” (Elizabeth Stone)

 

Any parent can relate to this profound statement.  We have experienced this very feeling, from the early days of wonder when we’re still basking in the miracle of new life…to the later days of surrender when we’re watching an adult child navigate through life.

 

My children are my heart.  And let me tell you, my heart has gone to some very painful places.  Times when they’ve been sick or hurt by friends.  Their disappointments and sorrow have become mine.  I have literally felt their heartaches.

 

Forever my heart walks around outside my body…

 

My heart has taken me to places I’ll never physically visit.  A son who has served in the military overseas for more than four years.  My heart has been in Turkey, Japan, and now in South Korea.

 

My heart has taken me to places I never imagined going.  A daughter who thought the answer to ending the pain in her life was to end her life.  My heart has been in an ambulance, a hospital and mental health facility.

 

My heart has taken me to places that seem so unfair.  A son with a skin condition that causes him to look different.  My heart has been with him in the midst of bullying at school and his struggles to go out in public.

 

Forever my heart walks around outside my body…

 

But the heart of a mother is more than just the pain.  It is also the prayer that reaches God’s ears when she cries out and pleads for His help.  It is the prayer of strength to get through the difficulties.  It is the prayer of healing.  The prayer of provision.  The prayer of comfort.

 

My prayers go with my heart that’s outside my body.  Intertwined in such a way that my child can’t escape the hand of God on their lives.  The protection while far away.  The saving of one’s life.  The strength to face challenges.

 

Forever my heart walks around outside my body…yet they’re never, ever alone because mama’s prayers are always with them.

 

(Note:  This is the first post in a special Mother’s Day series I’m running through May).  Please feel free to share with other moms!

Leave a Reply

