God the Source of All Comfort

The above picture is one of my favorite spots on a trail my husband and I walk frequently.  Every time we come to this area, I think of my father.  A few months after he passed away from a battle with lung disease, we were on one of our more silent walks…nothing but the sound of the wind blowing through the field.

Sadness enveloped me like a heavy blanket.  I was missing my daddy.  There was so much stuff going on in my life and I wanted so badly to talk with him about it.  It was in this exact spot on the trail that God’s still, small voice spoke words of comfort to my broken heart.  A sense of peace flooded my soul.  The breeze picked up and as it blew, I could imagine the arms of my daddy wrapped around me.  God was letting me know it was going to be okay.  Just as my earthly father would have settled the uneasiness within, my heavenly Father was doing the same.

The Bible doesn’t speak a whole lot about what happens on the other side of eternity.  It’s always best to err on the side of caution when it comes to this subject.  However, this I do believe…its mysteries are beyond our comprehension and understanding.  I don’t think we could handle the reality of heaven because our minds are so earthly.

I can’t tell you that it was a “sign” from my dad.  Yet this I do know, God is our greatest source of comfort.  I believe He shows comfort to us in ways that are unique and personal.  He reaches into the deepest places of our pain and applies the soothing balm of peace.  He restores unto us the joy of salvation when sorrow threatens to overwhelm us.

It’s hard for me to describe what happened next—but as we made our way off the trail and onto the paved pathway, there was a noticeable difference “in the air.”  I truly felt God’s presence on that trail but as soon as I wasn’t on it, everything felt…well, normal.  Although the sorrow had lifted and God’s peace filled me, I so badly wanted to get back to that feeling—which is impossible for me to accurately describe.

We’ve walked that same trail dozens of times since.  I’ve never again experienced the same presence of God as I did at that time.  However, it’s still become a place of comfort for me as I remember the way He ministered to my hurting heart.

Do you need comfort today?  Are you missing a loved one, who has been separated by death, distance or a disagreement?  Do you wonder how you’re going to make ends meet?  Have you been waiting a long, long time for God to answer a prayer?  May the following verses be a source of comfort to you, whatever your need.

The Lord is near to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit (Psalm 34:18).

Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.  What then shall we say to these things?  If God is for us, who is against us? (Matthew 5:4)

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our affliction so that we will be able to comfort those who are in any affliction with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God (2 Corinthians 1:3-4).

This is my comfort in my affliction, that Your Word has revived me (Psalm 119:50).

 

Leave a Reply

