The Prodigal Child – This Can Be Fixed

“Oh, the irony of it”, I thought.  Of all the ornaments to break, it would be the one belonging to that child.  Sadly, it seemed appropriate.  Broken.  Initially my heart ached for the precious memento, nearly two decades old.  It wasn’t just any ornament…it holds special meaning to me.  But then my heart sank as I thought about the brokenness of that child.  So much more precious and special than any object in this world.

A piece came off the ornament as I attempted to hang it on the tree.  It was fixable, so I put it to the side.  But then it got caught onto another ornament I tried to hang and in my effort to untangle them, dropped it on the floor.  A second piece came off.  Frustrated, I was ready to toss the whole thing in the garbage.  Something stopped me…a thought.  “This can be fixed.”

Let me be completely honest with you.  I’ve been ready to throw my hope in the trash because of the frustration I’ve experienced with my prodigal child.  Yet I believe God was trying to tell me something in that moment, beyond getting out the glue gun to repair the broken pieces.  He was saying with regard to my broken child, “This can be fixed.”

Adding to the irony of it all, that particular ornament is made of clay.  God’s Word has a few things to say about clay.  Let’s start with Isaiah 45:9 (TLB):

Woe to the man who fights with his Creator.  Does the pot argue with its maker?  Does the clay dispute with him who forms it, saying, “Stop, you’re doing it wrong!” or the pot exclaim, “How clumsy can you be!”?

Who am I to argue with the Creator of my child’s life?  What right do I have in telling Him it’s all wrong?  Yet I have done those very things.  I have disputed His ways of working in my child’s life.  I have declared it all to be so very wrong.  It’s not what I planned…or hoped…or dreamed.

If you have ever questioned the ways of God in your child’s life, may this response help:

Jehovah, the Holy One of Israel, Israel’s Creator, says:  What right have you to question what I do?  Who are you to command me concerning the work of my hands?  I have made the earth and created man upon it.  With my hands I have stretched out the heavens and commanded all the vast myriads of stars.  Isaiah 45:11-12 (TLB)

He knows what He is doing.  He has this.  He has that lost, broken child.

This can be fixed.

Leave a Reply

