Don’t Allow Excuses to Stunt Your Spiritual Growth

Awkward silence.  I don’t know a single person and it feels really uncomfortable.  Thoughts of getting up and leaving run through my mind.  But that would draw attention to me and quite honestly, it’s the last thing I want.

What was I thinking coming here?  I’m new and don’t know anyone.  I’m not an extrovert or a social butterfly…not that I’m not friendly, don’t get me wrong.  I am, once you engage in a conversation with me.  But in social circles, I tend to be wary.

This is a part of me that I don’t really like, the way I’m guarded and at times even distrustful.  I could cite all kinds of reasons (hurts from the past, issues with vulnerability, feeling uncomfortable in my own skin, etc.).  Yet reasons can easily become excuses.  And excuses stunt our spiritual growth.

We all have different areas in our lives that need work, in which we can come up with all kinds of reasons that…we can’t change, we’ll never experience victory, it makes no difference, it’s because of my past, It’s just how I am, and an assortment of other—well, let’s just call it what it really is—EXCUSES.

Reasons can certainly explain a situation.  But when we seek to justify our actions or we exempt ourselves from making an effort, these excuses stand in the way of what God can do in our lives.

When I go out of my comfort zone in an unfamiliar setting and take time to strike up a conversation, I have taken a step toward growth.  When I stick something out, no matter how much I want to give up, I have taken a step toward growth.  When I take a risk in doing something I don’t feel prepared for, I have taken a step toward growth.

Allow God to develop your character through opportunities you might normally run from.  Don’t let excuses stunt your spiritual growth.

Leave a Reply

