Turning Obstacles into Opportunities

 New day.  Fresh start.  Do over.  A chance to try again.  Relief that God has seen fit to give me another day.

 

I’ve been working on changing my perspective.  Instead of seeing the day before me as an obstacle—frustrating traffic jams, difficult co-workers, unexpected expenses, disagreements with the husband, uncooperative children, too much to do and not enough time to do it all—I’m seeing it as an opportunity.

 

Allow me to break down Lamentations 3:21-24.

 

Verse 21:  Yet this I call to mind and therefore I have hope.  Reminding myself each morning of the opportunities before me helps dispel the anticipation of obstacles.  It gives me hope to face the day.  What is the thing we are to call to mind?

 

Verse 22:  Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for His compassions never fail.  When I wake up embracing the love of the Lord, I realize that no matter how far I’ve fallen, I’m never too far away.  Regardless of my sins, I am not consumed.  Why?  His compassions never fail!  His grace is mine for the taking and it’s the reason I am given second, third, hundredth chances.  I may fail but God never does!

 

Verse 23:  They are new every morning; great is Your faithfulness.  New day to face opportunities, not obstacles. Whether I’m expecting bad things to happen or they just do, it doesn’t take away the truth that God is faithful.  And His compassions (His grace) is available to me each and every single day.  I can face today because He was faithful yesterday and He will be faithful today and tomorrow.

 

Verse 24:  I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for Him.”  My mornings are busy.  I get up at 4:30 a.m. and accomplish quite a bit before I start work at 7:30 a.m.  Despite my schedule, if I don’t wait for the Lord…to provide me the strength, guidance and wisdom I need for the day…I won’t see opportunities.  I will only see obstacles.

 

Place your hope in God.  Remember that our circumstances will never consume us.  Why?  Because He has compassion for what we’re going through and what we will face that day.  He will never fail us because He is faithful.  When we wait on God, we receive everything we need to turn our obstacles into opportunities.

Leave a Reply

